WWT Washington Wetland Centre

WWT Washington Wetland Centre

WWT Washington Wetland Centre
4.5
自然与野生动物区 • 公园
上午10:00 - 下午5:30
星期一
上午10:00 - 下午5:30
星期二
上午10:00 - 下午5:30
星期三
上午10:00 - 下午5:30
星期四
上午10:00 - 下午5:30
星期五
上午10:00 - 下午5:30
星期六
上午10:00 - 下午5:30
星期日
上午10:00 - 下午5:30
相关信息
建议时长
超过 3 小时
建议修改以优化页面内容。
完善此详情页
旅行者之选是什么?
Tripadvisor 会将旅行者之选大奖颁发给持续获得旅行者好评,并在 Tripadvisor 位列前 10%的酒店、景点和餐厅。

4.5
421 条点评
极佳
289
非常好
94
一般
28
较差
8
很糟糕
2

Twinkle S
英国盖茨黑德11 条分享
My happy place and a photographers paradise.
2021年10月 • 独自旅游
I am so lucky, to live close to WWT Washington, 15 minutes in the car and I'm in my happy place.

No matter how many times I visit, I see something new, often depending on the time of year/season. I've been really lucky to see the kingfisher, a couple of times.

WWT caters for people of all ages, The site is "disability friendl. It is a photographers paradise! I must have 1000's of photos, taken over the years.

The staff are lovely and really helpful

The food is lovely, in the cafe, though soft drinks are quite expensive, but all proceeds go back to WWT.

撰写日期:2021年10月21日
此点评为 Tripadvisor 会员所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。
Hello and thank you so much for your wonderful review. We're thrilled to hear you enjoy your visits and photographing the variety of birds and animals around our reserve. It's also great to hear you find the site accessible and our staff friendly and helpful. Your comments about our cafe will be fed back to the trading manager, so thank you for that. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
撰写日期:2021年10月27日
此回复为企业代表所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。

Greece9876
4 条分享
Very disappointing
2021年9月
Last visited over 20 years ago and was unimpressed then. It was the same this time, nothing has significantly changed other than there seem more paths and wooden hides. There are quite a few ducks and the odd unusual bird but hardly the numbers I would have expected. Flamingos seen in the distance were good and so were the 3 playful otters but really that was it. Not one insect seen in the bug house area. Dragged out the visit for 1 .5 hours to try and get something for the very high cost of the entry fee, and the only time my grandson was happy was on the slide in the tired looking play area. So much more could be done, like having someone showing the baby chicks to children and letting them be held etc instead that area called ‘The Duckery’ looked almost abandoned. As others have previously said, ducks can easily be seen and fed for free at local parks. We will not return and unless you are an avid bird watcher I don’t recommend a visit.
撰写日期:2021年9月12日
此点评为 Tripadvisor 会员所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。
Hi, thanks for your review. We're sorry to hear you had an unsatisfactory visit. We will feed your comments on to the rest of our team. Our wetlands are home to 300+ birds and our Asian short-clawed otter family and although it sounds like you saw some of them perhaps you didn't manage to see them all. Our exhibits are created to give a natural feeling and allow our birds the space they need to thrive - something which is not possible if too many birds are present in one area. Many of our collection birds are non-native species from around the world and you wouldn't be able to see these particular species at local parks, for example. Our wild reserve sees hundreds of birds of varying species visit our site to feed or rest and the hides provide great views of many of these birds. We are hoping to update our insect hotel, but we hope you managed to see lots of insects around the flowers of our site. Our duckery in September is nearing the end of breeding season and so there are not many young birds in there as they have all grown and been added to the rest of our collection - we will look at our interp boards to see if we can make this more clear for visitors. Unfortunately due to the nature of the species of birds and the endangered status of many of them, allowing visitors to hold them is incredibly risky to the birds health and wellbeing. As a conservation charity this is something we aren't able to offer. Many thanks
撰写日期:2021年10月4日
此回复为企业代表所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。

Joanna Lenson
1 条分享
Lovely place, friendly staff, pity about the toilets
2021年8月
Really great to see the variety of birds, even 2 herons close up.It was the first time I have seen a brown rat below the bird feeder stations in the hide in the wood. Also a nice cafe that is as environmentally as friendly as it could realistically be.

Just a pity about the chemical toilets that did stink even first thing in the morning.
撰写日期:2021年8月27日
此点评为 Tripadvisor 会员所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to review. We're pleased you enjoyed the main of your visit and managed to see a variety of wildlife. The portable toilets were a temporary measure to get us through the height of Covid restrictions. These have now been removed and the toilets within the visitor centre are now fully open. We hope to see you again soon.
撰写日期:2021年10月4日
此回复为企业代表所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。

kevin Hodgson
英国达勒姆20 条分享
Poor needs some tlc
2021年8月 • 家庭
Kids enjoyed feeding ducks and walking round watching them and seeing the flamingos. Had nice afternoon but to be honest there’s places what needs work doing the grass needs cutting and in general think needs more animals. Otters flamingos and ducks sums up the afternoon. Park wasn’t good for kids today as just seemed run down and untidy. The toilets are portable toilets. Which isn’t good for young kids plus not many sinks and taps working to clean hands. Very poor compared to our visit about 3 years ago. But kids were happy so that’s what’s all about.
撰写日期:2021年8月3日
此点评为 Tripadvisor 会员所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。
Hello there and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback - it really is very important to us. It's great to hear that your children enjoyed their visit and that they had fun seeing our otters, flamingos and ducks! We agree - happy children = happy grown ups :-). We know the portable toilets aren't an ideal set up for some little ones but they are currently our safest option due to the tight layout of those in the building, which aren't big enough to allow social distancing, at a time when covid cases are high in our region. The portable ones are fully accessible and cleaned regularly with lots of hand sanitiser in place, while our outdoor sinks just down the path at the Pond Zone have hot water and soap. The park is a well-used and well-loved feature of our site, particularly during the summer holidays (as mentioned in the review below yours!) so we're sorry to hear that you were disappointed by it. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts, we really appreciate them. We hope that we might see you again on a future visit :-)
撰写日期:2021年8月4日
此回复为企业代表所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。

LinzMcM
North-East England108 条分享
Excellent value and great day out
2021年8月 • 家庭
Excellent day out with young kids. This was the second time we’ve been after visiting in the winter time previously and we vowed we would return. So much to see and do. We stayed a few hours as my son is only two and insisted on walking everywhere so knew he was getting tired but he if had brought older children you could make this 3 or 4 hours. The whole centre is well kept and clean. The play park is well thought out and will keep kids entertained. There’s plenty of picnic benches if you bring a packed lunch or you can get hot drinks and food from the cafe. I think this place is excellent value for money and have now recommended it to plenty of people.
撰写日期:2021年8月1日
此点评为 Tripadvisor 会员所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。
Hi there, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review - it's really appreciated. It sounds as if your little one is already on his way to becoming an intrepid wetland explorer and we can't wait to welcome you all back on a future visit! Thanks also for spreading the word by recommending us to others. As a conservation charity (with the wonderful bonus of a venue at which you can see examples of the work we do!) we rely on people such as yourselves for ongoing and invaluable support. We couldn't do any of it without you :-)
撰写日期:2021年8月4日
此回复为企业代表所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。

Seasidegold
1 条分享
Disappointing, unfortunately not good value for money for kids !
2021年7月 • 家庭
Paid £23.95 to take my two grandchildren for the afternoon as 2 hours is about long enough.
Booked on line which was easy enough to do but we were greeted by the most grumpiest member of staff who even counted us out loud, there were 3 of us! Not sure if these people are volunteers but come on at least offer people a smile & engage with your customers!
I later discovered that there was an activity sheet the children could have completed during their visit but we weren’t even offered one - terrible!
The flamingos were enchanting but we even had to google why they were standing on one leg as very little educational material on display!
The compost toilet is definitely a big no no !!!
One scoop Ice cream £5.80 for two cones & a further £15 spent in the gift shop to save the day !!!
Very little to do, with very few attractions other than the flamingos & otters.
This was our first visit but we definitely won’t be back.
Save your money. It might be ok for an adult walk but if you have kids save your money & go to Joes pond, Herrington Country Park or James Steel Park which are all free!
撰写日期:2021年7月27日
此点评为 Tripadvisor 会员所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。
Hello there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback - it's incredibly important to us and much appreciated. We're very sorry to hear that your visit did not meet the high standards that we strive for and hope to consistently deliver. Our friendly staff and warm welcome are something we pride ourselves on (as evidenced in the many recent five star reviews below) but it's clear that your experience fell short of this. Our Wetlands Explorer logbook activity (the sheet that you've mentioned) and our staff-led sessions (including pond dipping, den building and animal tracking) are also running all summer long and should have been flagged up to you upon arrival. We apologise that this didn't happen. Can I ask what date you visited please so that we may address this? Our composting toilet is checked at least twice daily but obviously things beyond our control can happen, causing a drop in standards. Such an incident did happen on 27 July and two team members immediately dealt with the situation once we were made aware (which may be what you're referring to, if that was the day you visited? Without specifics we can't be sure!). We understand that you were unhappy about the secondary spend at the ice cream kiosk and in the gift shop but hopefully it may help to know that the money does directly contribute to the work that we do as a wetland conservation charity both in the UK and internationally. Thank you for your support :-) With regards to having little to do (although we agree that the otters and flamingos are fab!), we know that not everybody will enjoy everything we have here on site but hand-feeding our ducks and geese, watching woodland birds on the feeders at Hawthorn Wood hide, seeing young common tern and shelduck exploring Wader Lake, using the hands-on elements in the Waterlab and our two children's play areas are certainly elements we know lots of people have fun doing. We hope that we've fully addressed your concerns here but if not then please don't hesitate to get in touch with us directly and we'll be happy to have a chat and help further. Our email is info.washington@wwt.org.uk and the phone number is 0191 416 5454. Thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts.
撰写日期:2021年7月29日
此回复为企业代表所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。

nb888
英国诺丁汉295 条分享
Very good for a day out!
2021年7月
Me and my girlfriend decided to come here as we were looking for an alternative to the Kubix festival which got cancelled again, so we decided to take a day trip here to see the wildlife.
I must admit, a wetland centre in the middle of a heavily industrialised area, I thought 1 hour tops and we will be done here. In the event we stayed for around 5 hours. There are a lot of things to see and do, it is all well laid out and suitable if you just want to stay in the inner part of the wetlands area, or venture out into the more wildlifey areas.
You can hire binoculars for £5 and there is a cafe although we brought our own lunch and refreshments.
Would definitely recommend.
撰写日期:2021年7月4日
此点评为 Tripadvisor 会员所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。
Hi there, Ahhh, what a great review! So pleased we were able to step in and make your day after the disappointment of plans changing. Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback and we hope to see you again in future :-)
撰写日期:2021年7月29日
此回复为企业代表所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。

Ginacham31
5 条分享
You have to see this
2021年7月 • 夫妻情侣
This was a lot better than any of the wildlife centres I've been to. Friendly staff and lots to see. Really enjoyed the variety of birds and the otters were amazing. Lots of space and binocular hire was a good touch. Lots of informative literature. Spent a whole day.
撰写日期:2021年7月3日
此点评为 Tripadvisor 会员所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。
Hi Gina, Thanks so much for your lovely review. Feedback is really important to us and we appreciate you taking the time! We hope to see you again for a future visit later in the year :-)
撰写日期:2021年7月29日
此回复为企业代表所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。

Bermuda1Cheltenham
Cheltenham307 条分享
Beautiful natural setting for this WWT attraction
2021年6月 • 夫妻情侣
Visited by chance today, as passing through the area en-route from Durham to Northumberland. Happened to spot it on the map and being WWT members and volunteer at Slimbridge in Gloucestershire we were delighted to visit. (Generally you should still pre-book, but we phoned on the off-chance on the day and we’re able to be accommodated as visitors numbers were not too many). So pleased We did. Really lovely place. Very large area and locket setting. Lots of different birds species. Particularly enjoyed seeing bullfinches, woodpeckers and jays, although these birds technically don’t live there! Also liked watching the terns (just like on Springwatch last week), seeing lots of ducklings and the otters. Very well kept. Nice cafe and small shop.
撰写日期:2021年6月14日
此点评为 Tripadvisor 会员所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your spontaneous visit! It's great to hear you managed to see lots while you were here and enjoyed seeing our wild woodland visitors, tern on Wader Lake and our collection animals too. As always, thank you very much for your continued support as a member and volunteer, we wouldn't be here without you. Take care and we hope to see you again soon!
撰写日期:2021年6月28日
此回复为企业代表所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。

AvidGlobeHopper
英国Birtley252 条分享
Wonderful place
2021年5月 • 夫妻情侣
WWT Washington has been a go-to place for us since we were children. It remains a wonderful place to visit with new exhibits year on year. If you want to get off the beaten track there are some lovely hides further out.
撰写日期:2021年5月23日
此点评为 Tripadvisor 会员所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。
Hi, Thanks so much for taking to time to leave us a review. We're chuffed to hear that you've been visiting since you were children and enjoy your visits still. Your continued support is invaluable! Many thanks and we'll see you soon!
撰写日期:2021年5月24日
此回复为企业代表所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。

显示第 110 页的结果,共 421
信息遗漏或有误?
建议修改以优化页面内容。
完善此详情页