No1 Lounge

No1 Lounge(豪恩斯洛)

上午4:30 - 下午10:30
星期一
上午4:30 - 下午10:30
星期二
上午4:30 - 下午10:30
星期三
上午4:30 - 下午10:30
星期四
上午4:30 - 下午10:30
星期五
上午4:30 - 下午10:30
星期六
上午4:30 - 下午10:30
星期日
上午4:30 - 下午10:30

体验类似景点的最佳方式

区域
地址
附近的最佳景点玩乐
餐厅
在 # 公里范围内共找到 321 个地点
景点
在 # 公里范围内共找到 138 个地点

3.0
494 条点评
极佳
107
非常好
137
一般
90
较差
66
很糟糕
94

Joe C
英国萨顿3 条分享
2022年1月 • 夫妻情侣
I’m currently sitting in what is essentially a very poor, busy buffet breakfast area. I’ve had better experiences in Pret. No table service, all food is self service, coffee is from an automatic machine and tastes disgusting, and the food is terrible. Bar staff were inconvenienced that I asked for two bucks fiz for my wife and I. Not a great start to the honeymoon. Would never come back to a No.1 lounge
撰写日期:2022年1月18日
此点评为 Tripadvisor 会员所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。

longpod212
英国诺丁汉441 条分享
2022年1月 • 夫妻情侣
Me and my wife don’t normally bother with lounges as we enjoy looking in all the airport shops,but we thought we would have a change this trip and relax in a lounge before our long haul flight. Very disappointing and won’t bother again! It felt like a chaotic premier in, hardly anywhere to sit and was just to busy. Food and drink options were good and there was plenty of it,shame there weren’t any proper tables to sit at. On the plus side toilet and wash facilities were excellent. Next time I think we will relax in a bar or restaurant in the airport.
撰写日期:2022年1月9日
此点评为 Tripadvisor 会员所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。
Hello Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit to the lounge. I will send a copy of your comments to the lounge manager so that she can share your feedback with her team. Your feedback is critical in ensuring we are always striving to drive improvements in the guest experience and I do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in us in the future. Kind regards Katie
撰写日期:2022年1月13日
此回复为企业代表所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。

amurru
英国大伦敦51 条分享
2022年1月 • 夫妻情侣
I have been in the 7th using my priority pass.
The receptionist was accomodeting us and in same time was talking and answering with other guest.

Hot food was just curry and rice, salad not available, cheese and dry biscuit.

The toilet was very dirty.

Coffee was burn and tasteless.

Frozen chocolate brown, supermarket croissant and dry biscuit were available as dessert..

No still water available, just a kind of tap water arriving from the kitchen in a big plastic jug with some.

I’m using a club lounge 2 times a month, I will make sure to avoid this at all cost.
撰写日期:2022年1月7日
此点评为 Tripadvisor 会员所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。
Hi there, I'm so sorry to see you were disappointed with your visit. Thank you for your feedback, it has been shared with our team. We investigate every piece of feedback we receive fully, we always provide anyone leaving us a review the email address for our Guest Relations team. As this information isn't available via TripAdvisor we wonder if you would be willing to contact us via enquiries@no1lounges.com with the details of how and when you entered the lounge, along with the name of your review and I will investigate this further and provide a full response. Kind Regards, Katie
撰写日期:2022年1月13日
此回复为企业代表所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。

The Marrs
英国616 条分享
2021年12月 • 夫妻情侣
No where near a premium lounge service now.

We got there to find empty seats but dirty plates sat at the tables. We cleared them ourselves to the bar and had to ask for some one to wipe the table down. 5 mins later we had a clean table.

It's now all self serve. Gone are the menu with good food, it's now a buffet style. The food is not as good as it used to be. I know there are supply issues in most industries but when paying a price for what us classed as premium, you expect better quality if food. The two business sat opposite us, left their food after a few bites and went to purchase breakfast else where.

The best part are the coffers, DE on machine tap. Asked at the bar for Bailey and Jameson to make a better coffee. Bar had ran out of both.

Really disappointed with the near £40 each paid. Really gone down hill.
撰写日期:2021年12月27日
此点评为 Tripadvisor 会员所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。
Hello, Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the food and drink offering in the lounge. I do hope that you were able to bring this to the attention of one of the team members in the lounge so that they had the opportunity to resolve this for you. I will ensure a copy of your comments are passed to the relevant management team. Kind regards Katie
撰写日期:2022年1月13日
此回复为企业代表所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。

Clairebear2905
英国Distington41 条分享
2021年12月 • 夫妻情侣
Upon arrival despite booking directly with heathrow they didn’t have our booking. After overcoming this we found that this is an oversized buffet! When I say buffet I mean that in the loosest possible terms. Like the sort of buffet you get at a 1star all inclusive. The whole place is dirty and very busy. Coffee is out of a machine and tasted like cheap coffee. Complete and utter waste of money! We were in here 30 mins before leaving for main departures where it is much nicer. Just don’t bother!
撰写日期:2021年12月27日
此点评为 Tripadvisor 会员所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。
Hello, I'm so sorry to see you were disappointed with your visit. Thank you for your feedback, it has been shared with our team. We investigate every piece of feedback we receive fully, we always provide anyone leaving us a review the email address for our Guest Relations team. As this information isn't available via TripAdvisor we wonder if you would be willing to contact us via guestrelations@no1lounges.com with the details of how and when you entered the lounge, along with the name of your review and I will investigate this further and provide a full response. Kind Regards, Katie.
撰写日期:2022年1月5日
此回复为企业代表所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。

joannahughes321
英国阿伯加文尼43 条分享
2021年12月 • 家庭
Lovely to be in a relaxing environment and the staff are lovely and welcoming. Don’t come here for the food. At £34 a head-its not impressive. Curry or bean casserole! My 13 year old isn’t a curry fan. A lovely lady found her a bread roll.
Not worth the £34 I spent for her to sit here. Really!! Wouldn’t mind a refund..
don’t waste your money
撰写日期:2021年12月16日
此点评为 Tripadvisor 会员所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。
Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We’re currently experiencing issues around the availability of certain food and beverage items. This is beyond our control, but we’re working hard to tackle this with our supply chain partners to deliver the No1 Lounge experience you have come to know and love. That being said, I am very concerned by the points raised. Please could you email me via Guestrelations@no1lounges.com so I can look into this further for you. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards, Katie
撰写日期:2021年12月20日
此回复为企业代表所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。

Tallyho15
英国Uppingham72 条分享
2021年12月 • 夫妻情侣
Arrived at the No1 Lounge T3 LHR at 10:15am to find empty plates and warming dishes at the (very small) buffet. Not even a muffin or piece of bread available. It was 10:15. We were told that it would be replenished. This did not happen. At 10:50 the team brought out the lunch food - bits of salad, a small dish of rice, a small dish of pasta and a small dish of some odd looking dish which we were told was chicken and chorizo. Otherwise you could have an apple! All we managed to have was a coffee.
We decided to leave and seek food elsewhere due to an impending long flight. Staff seemed completely oblivious to the reason people were there and the need for food in a timely manner and quite disinterested.
Far from being the nice relaxed environment we hoped for it created a rushed, stressful time in needing to find food in other busy places. On complaining later by email we did get a full refund (much appreciated) but it's perhaps best to save yourself the stress and hassle and just use one of the many eateries in the terminal. Needs a serious management overhaul and staff training.
撰写日期:2021年12月3日
此点评为 Tripadvisor 会员所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。
Hello Thank you very much for leaving your comments. I am very concerned by your comments, please could you send an email for my attention to enquiries@no1lounges.com detailing the date of your visit so that I can ensure your comments are addressed by our lounge manager. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind regards Katie
撰写日期:2021年12月20日
此回复为企业代表所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。

Joseph B
9 条分享
2021年11月 • 夫妻情侣
Totally overcrowded, not nearly enough staff, absolutely no food. I won't be pre-pwyinf for a lounge at Heathrow again!
撰写日期:2021年12月1日
此点评为 Tripadvisor 会员所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。
Hi there, I'm so sorry to see you were disappointed with your visit. Thank you for your feedback, it has been shared with our team. We investigate every piece of feedback we receive fully, we always provide anyone leaving us a review the email address for our Guest Relations team. As this information isn't available via TripAdvisor we wonder if you would be willing to contact us via guestrelations@no1lounges.com with the details of how and when you entered the lounge, along with the name of your review and I will investigate this further and provide a full response. Kind Regards, Katie
撰写日期:2021年12月20日
此回复为企业代表所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。

Ambrose O
英国牛津郡601 条分享
2021年9月
This was our 5th visit to the lounge and once again we had a comfortable, relaxed visit. We hold DragonPass cards but over recent years have prebooked to ensure entry on the day. We both had bacon sandwiches and a fruit plate with croissants and a couple of glasses of wine. The staff were very friendly especially the young lady who looked after us.
撰写日期:2021年11月21日
此点评为 Tripadvisor 会员所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。
Hello, Thank you for your kind words, I will make sure this is passed onto our team at Heathrow! I am glad you had a enjoyable visit with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Katie.
撰写日期:2021年11月26日
此回复为企业代表所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。

Stewp0t
内华达拉斯维加斯19 条分享
2021年11月 • 夫妻情侣
What a disappointment!
Check in was less than welcoming; we got the third degree on where, when, how and whether we’d booked, despite having the reservation and receipt with us.
Having been let in, we found the majority of the lounge empty, but the tables all marked as “Reserved”.
The staff told us we couldn’t sit there - quite why I’m not sure.
We ended up in the Cinema; an interesting place where that ever-popular TV channel BBC Parliament does battle with the elevator music playing overhead.
There is a bar, but, despite offering Buck’s Fizz it can’t offer mineral water.
The water tap was out of action and all the staff had was tap water for us.
The food on offer is best summarised by saying we went elsewhere to eat. The Bakery selection was 1 tiny croissant and fruit and yoghurt - none of the pastries advertised was available.
There were also shortbreads - and that was it. Nothing you could help yourself to, which makes you feel both unwanted and untrusted.
I have to praise a couple of the younger staff who were apologetic about the seating and quality of the food on offer.
Overall, we felt like an inconvenience and as if the Lounge was trying to do the minimum possible to meet their brief.
If economics is the problem, I wish they increased the price instead of lowering the standard.
撰写日期:2021年11月15日
此点评为 Tripadvisor 会员所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。
Hi there, I'm so sorry to see you were disappointed with your visit. Thank you for your feedback, it has been shared with our team. We investigate every piece of feedback we receive fully, we always provide anyone leaving us a review the email address for our Guest Relations team. As this information isn't available via TripAdvisor we wonder if you would be willing to contact us via enquiries@no1lounges.com with the details of how and when you entered the lounge, along with the name of your review and I will investigate this further and provide a full response. Kind Regards, Katie
撰写日期:2021年11月26日
此回复为企业代表所写的主观评论,并不代表 TripAdvisor LLC 的观点。

显示第 110 页的结果,共 494
信息遗漏或有误?
建议修改以优化页面内容。
完善此详情页